DIY Rolodex Makeover

I know what a lot of you are thinking just from reading the title of this post.

“How does that 24 year old even know what a Rolodex is, let alone have one to make over?”

IMG_0488Well my friends, my mother is a hoarder. In the fall of 2014, I spent my time working along side my parents in the family business. We gave the back of their office a nice little face lift. But before we got to that point, I had to go through all of the crap that had been building up in that office for years. Between my mom’s need to save everything, and my grandpa’s thrift store/yard sale/auction purchases, there was a good amount of random stuff in that office. I found not one, not two, but THREE Rolodex’s. I talked her into letting me take one, and here we are.

That ugly Rolodex has been sitting on my crafting table since November when we moved in. It seemed to just stare at me and mock my lack of inspiration to do anything with it. But now that I am in the middle of a “crafting challenge”, it seemed like a fitting time to make this thing usable.

IMG_0487Supplies:

  • Rolodex
  • Rubbing Alcohol
  • Q-Tips
  • Paper Towels
  • Paint

Directions:

  1. Before starting anything, you should take all of the paper and dividers out.IMG_0489
  2. If your Rolodex was anything like mine, you are going to need to clean it. Rubbing Alcohol will take care of any dust. I used Q-tips for all the hard to reach places and paper towels for everything else.
  3. Once the Rolodex is clean, choose colors. I chose pink, purple, and silver. If you have craft paint, it is going to take a few solid layers. Keep applying layers until the color looks solid.IMG_0494
  4. I decided I didn’t just want a solid color. So i drew chevron on mine. If you want to you can tape it off to get the perfect chevron, but I just free handed mine.
  5. Lastly, I wrote our last name on the front plate where it used to say Rolodex.IMG_0500
  6. Now that you have it completely decorated, you can replace the letter dividers and paper.IMG_0502

I decided to use my Rolodex as the classic address book, but you could use yours as a recipe holder, or anything else you can think of. Now proudly show off your super old Rolodex!

lyssa

Leave a Reply

