Disney Themed Ranger School Homecoming

wpid-wp-1443008426382.jpegAnyone who knows us, knows that my husband and I love Beauty and the Beast. Sure, it was kinda my thing that morphed into our thing. But Zac grew to love it so much that Tale As Old As time was our wedding song, that he happily walked around Disney World wearing Beauty and the Beast Tank tops, and that we decorated our living room with a painting of the Beauty and the Beast stained glass window. Like a lot of things in our lives, it went from “my movie” to “our movie”.

While Zac was in Ranger School, I made him a book using pictures from the movie to try to make him laugh. The book suggested that Zac was the Beast, obviously, and that Ranger School was Gaston. There were pictures of Gaston attacking the Beast, pictures of Belle giving the Beast a stern “talking to”, and of course, pictures of the Beast defeating Gaston. This book was going to be given to Zac when he was on his bus ride back to Georgia from Florida, so I thought I would keep the Beauty and the Beast theme going when I went to pick him up.

wpid-wp-1442941679447.jpegFirst I made my version of a Disney Bound Belle dress. (I didn’t end up getting many pictures of just the dress on the day of because I was so excited to see Zac. But I did take one while I was working on my outfit.)

To make this Disney Bound, I found a plain, strapless yellow dress. It was not an easy thing to do at the end of summer. Most stores were transitioning to Fall clothing styles, so most yellows were mustardy tones that just wouldn’t cut it for me. Luckily, I had my crew of amazing friends helping me look. We found a ton of different styles of yellow dresses at Forever 21. I found a lot of really cute ones, that were actually way cuter than the one I bought. But I knew this particular dress would be perfect for what I wanted to do to it. Next, I went on the hunt for yellow tulle and buttons. Surprisingly, Hobby Lobby didn’t have ANY yellow tulle. They actually had every color BUT yellow. I did snag the rose and a red flower for my hair from Hobby Lobby though, so it didn’t end up being a wasted trip. Next I hit up JoAnn’s Fabric. I have had a lot of success with them lately, so I wasn’t too surprised when I found exactly what I needed. I did have to paint my buttons yellow, but that was a simple fix. I attached the tulle and buttons to my dress by hand, and ended up securing the buttons with hot glue so they would lay flat if I moved. My last added touch was finding red shoes. I found a really cute pair at Charlotte Ruse. wpid-wp-1442941698548.jpegUnfortunately, I have baby feet and they didn’t have my size. I ended up finding mine at Rue 21. There shoe sizes are a little strange so the closest I could get to “my size” was a S/M so they are a little bit big, but they got the job done.

Next I needed to make a sign. I knew showing up dressed as a Disney Princess could be potentially ridiculous, so I needed my sign to tie everything together. I decided to make it say “I’m here for my Beast.” Just to make sure there could be no doubt in anyones mind, I decided to draw the Beast on the sign too. I chose to draw him in his cape and angry so he’d be more masculine. I outlined everything and drew in stained glass throughout the outline.

Zac’s face when he saw me was exactly what I expected. A big ole’ smile and a goofy laugh. I know I could have shown up in sweat pants and he wouldn’t have cared but I was glad I did something silly. It gave me something to do and made him laugh before I even made it to him. And hey, now I can dress like Belle when ever I want to. I am NOT mad about that! 🙂

lyssa

Leave a Reply

